2020 Mid Year Book Freakout Tag [aka a tag I was not tagged to do – but everybody is doing it]

Hello my lovely readers. I would like to apologize for my recent disappearance, but finals have taken over my life.
I’ve got a lot of things planned for the future as well as a lot of ARCs I’ve picked up from Booksirens and Netgalley that I’m due to review in close future. So hopefully I’ll be giving you lots of interesting content in the future. 🙂
I think we can all agree that 2020 has been an absolute mess so I’m hoping that answering these questions will at least make me happy because my reading was – hopefully – good. Keep reading and you’ll find out.

Let’s start!


Ninth House (Alex Stern, #1)
  • Best book you’ve read so far in 2020

    Looking back at what I’ve read sofar in 2020 I’m already a bit disappointed because I didn’t even have a hard time selecting a book for this question. Only a couple of books I read in 2020 were in the almost favourites group and I did not have a hard time picking a favourite out of them.
    Why did I like the Ninth House?
    I am a huge fan of Leigh Bardugo and I honestly think that this book is a great start of the series. I’m having huge expectations for the second book and I can not wait to get my hands on it.
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
  • Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2020

    I did read quite a few sequels but none of them was my favourite. But I’m picking The Hand on the Wall by Maureen Johnson for this one. The others were either rereads or I liked them mostly because I was in love with their predecessors and objectively they weren’t that good.
    Now this book is the final book in what I consider to be one of the best YA mysteries. The idea behind this trilogy is so good and I highly recommend them if you are a fan of YA. I can not say much about this instalment because I will spoil the previous books. But I think the best way to read these is to just read them back to back. If you make a huge gap between them you might find the third one a bit less interesting because of the way the second one ends.
Loveless
  • New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

    I think there are lots of books that fit this question but I can’t think of them. One of the books that come to mind is Loveless by Alice Oseman. I have completely forgotten about this book until it started showing up on my GR feed and all over Twitter. It’s a book about an asexual teen and their transition to Uni… and I think I need this in my life ASAP. I don’t care that I’m no longer a teen and that I’ve been through that entire rollercoaster that is beginning Uni and discovering yourself. I just feel that this is a book I’ve been waiting for a long, long time. Gimme.
A Deadly Education (Scholomance, #1)
  • Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

    It’s A Deadly Education by Naomi Novik. I definitely need more magic in my life and this sounds really promising. Reading the synopses I feel the stakes are pretty high and I’m all for that. I am already in love with Novik’s writing even though I had some issues with Uprooted I absolutely loved the writing. I just don’t see how I can not love this book. If I don’t it will be the biggest disappointment ever.
Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #4)
  • Biggest disappointment

    With tears in my eyes I’ve got to say Capturing the Devil by Kerri Maniscalco. Don’t get me wrong, I gave this book 4 stars on GR (honestly it was more of a three but I gave it a 4 because of my love for the characters. This quartet is one of my all-time favourite YA series I’ve read so far. I care about those characters and I love the mysteries…but, the final two books just got less and less enjoyable. I still liked them because I was already connected with the story. The romance drama in this one was not my cup of tea. I hate when there is romance drama out of nowhere. I had to force myself to read it. We did get a good plot-twist at the end which helped the book redeem itself a bit. Still my least favourite of the four.
An Enchantment of Ravens
  • Biggest surprise

    The biggest surprise about this one is that i’s a YA fantasy standalone haha. Okay, okay, I know, that was mean. I was a bit hesitant to pick An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson. The reviews kept me unsure about reading this one and I almost skipped it and picked the other book by the author since it had much more favourable reviews. For and unknown reason I decided to pick this one first to check out Rogerson’s style. I was not disappointed. Maybe it was my really low expectation but the book passed the test. You do have an insta-romance. But it’s a short fantasy book and I’ve got to say it was really well developed and funny. Can’t wait to read Sorcery of Thorns.
The Family Upstairs
  • Favorite new author (debut or new to you)

    I haven’t read many new authors and I haven’t read more than one book by any of them, but I’m picking Lisa Jewel because I think she deserves a shout-out. Lately, I’ve been really let down by many of the thrillers/mysteries I pick. I find them to be predictable and not really engaging. Reading The Family Upstairs brought me back my interest in reading thrillers. I need to pick up her other books ASAP to see if her books keep up with the standards this one has set up. The reviews sound promising.
Get a Life, Chloe Brown (The Brown Sisters, #1)
  • Newest fictional crush

    I’m not a huge fan of adult romances. I like to pick them from time to time when I’m in the mood for something that requires less of my engagement in the story. That being said I decided to give Get a Life Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert a chance since everybody seems to be talking about this book and my heart is absolutely stolen by Redford Morgan. He is such a great guy. I want a Redford for myself.
  • Newest favorite character

    I did not really click with the characters from the books I’ve read this year – again not counting rereads. I need to fix that for the second part of the year. My heart needs more fictional friends and crushes since COVID-19 is stopping me from having fun with my real ones.
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)
  • Book that made you cry

    I don’t think that I have read a book this year that has melted my cold heart yet. The only time I’ve cried was when I was rereading The Hunger Games. But we all know that those books just destroy all the emotions in a person.

The Little Prince
  • Book that made you happy

    Another question I have no new book for. I felt happy reading The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery. That book just warms my heart every time I pick it up.



Vicious (Villians #1)
  • Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

    I don’t think I’ve bought many books this year. I honestly don’t remember. It feels as if January was years ago and I can not remember what I bought since the year started. The book I know I bought for certain and that I like the cover is Vicious by Victoria Schwab. I’m so happy I’ve received this pretty cover and not the ugly version other paperbacks have. It’s not ugly but I have when any other words (other than title and author’s name) are covering the cover art – a huge peeve of mine.
    The cover that would have been here is the Serbian edition of Call Me By Your Name but it’s sold out and I’m so sad because I didn’t buy it. Those editions are just so pretty!
  • What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

    Honestly I don’t have a premade TBR. I would love it if I manage to finish some of the fantasies on my physical TBR (first book in the Mistborn series, The Lord of the Rings trilogy – I need to reread first one, Vicious…) so that I can purchase more books and not feel guilty haha.
  • Favorite book community member

Book bloggers:
A Book. A Thought.
Book Princess Reviews
Confessions of a YA Reader
Inside My Library Mind
Bookmark Your Thoughts
Caitlin Althea

Booktubers:

Noelle Gallagher
Bowties & Books
ella’s novellas
Jessica Nicole Dickerson
The Book Leo
chasingpages
Tiana Tea

to name just a few.
I’m still new to the Bookstagram world so I still don’t have any favourites there. I’m sure that by the end of the year I’ll have a long list of favourites.



Wow, this took much more time than I expected it would take. I hope you enjoyed this post. I would like to know how was your year sofar. If you have done this tag post the link in the comments, I would like to check it out.

Leave a comment